Rowdie: Mathematical football prediction and betting tips

European Championship History

European Championship History: Countries with Multiple Euro Cup Titles

All eyes are on the 2024 European Championship set to begin on June 14. The Euros have long been one of the most exciting football tournaments in the world, with millions of fans tuning in to watch the best national teams on the continent compete for glory.


Host country Germany is tied with Spain for the most championships won since the tournament began, and both teams will seek a fourth title on home soil this summer. They are joined by France and Italy as the only teams to clinch the title multiple times, with the Netherlands, Czechoslovakia, Portugal, Denmark, Greece, and the Soviet Union completing the list of winners.


Italy was crowned champion of Europe at Wembley in 2021 and will be hoping to win consecutive titles this summer, a feat only Spain has achieved. The search for a first continental title also continues for other heavyweights like England, Croatia, and Belgium.


Whether or not a new winner emerges in Germany remains to be seen. In the meantime, we take a detailed look at the most successful teams at the Euros, recapping their historic runs to European glory.



The Euro 2024 hosts were first crowned champions on June 18, 1972, defeating the Soviet Union 3-0 thanks to a brace from the legendary Gerd Müller, with Herbert Wimmer completing the scoresheet. The 1972 Championship was the first appearance for Germany (then West Germany) in the competition, and their excellent display in this tournament marked the beginning of German dominance in football as the same team would go on to win the FIFA World Cup in 1974.


Die Mannschaft won their second European Championship in 1980. The final was held on June 22 at the Stadio Olimpico in Rome, with West Germany seeing off a stubborn Belgium side 2-1. West Germany scored their first goal through Horst Hrubesch in the 10th minute but had to fend off some late drama after René Vandereycken equalized from the spot in the 75th minute. The Germans eventually got their second goal, again through Hrubesch in the 88th minute to seal the deal.


Germany had to wait 16 years for a third Euro Cup title, and they achieved this on June 30, 1996, in a thrilling final matchup against the Czech Republic at Wembley Stadium in England. The win made Germany the first team to win three European Championships, and it was also their first football title won as a unified nation.


The tournament was the Czech Republic’s first European Championship since Czechoslovakia’s breakup in 1993, and they came drawing first blood after Patrik Berger converted a 59th-minute spot kick. Oliver Bierhoff kept Germany alive in the 73rd minute to take the match to extra time before slotting in the decisive ‘golden goal’ in the 95th minute. The Euro 1996 final was the second major tournament final to be decided by the ‘golden goal’ rule. Germany also became the first team to clinch the European Championship unbeaten throughout the tournament.



Spain achieved its first-ever European Championship (then European Nations Cup) win on home soil in 1964. The final was held at Real Madrid‘s home, the famous Santiago Bernabeu, and pitted Spain against the Soviet Union. It was an array of early goals, with Jesús María Pereda breaking the deadlock early on in the sixth minute and Galimzyan Khusainov equalizing two minutes later. The game seemed to be headed for a tie until Marcelino scored the winner in the 84th minute, sealing La Roja’s first championship.


Spain’s second title win did not come until 2008. After winning all their group-stage games, Spain defeated Italy on penalties in the quarterfinals, followed by a 3-0 win against Russia in the semi-finals to set up a showdown against Germany. In a tight affair, Fernando Torres’ 33rd-minute goal was enough to hand the Spaniards their second European Championship, ending a 44-year title drought. The win also made Spain only the second team, and the first since Germany in 1996, to have an unbeaten European Championship campaign.


Following the title-winning trajectory, Spain was crowned World Champion for the first time at the historic 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa, putting up one of the most dominant national team runs in the history of football.


La Roja would go on to make more history two years later, comfortably defeating Italy in the Euro 2012 final. The goals came for Spain courtesy of David Silva, Jordi Alba, Fernando Torres, and Juan Mata, and Spain became the first, and to this day, only nation to win consecutive European Championships. The 4-0 win is also the largest final win margin in the history of the tournament.



France is third on the list, with two wins in their history. Les Bleus won their first title on home soil in 1984, defeating Spain 2-0 at the Parc des Princes. Legendary midfielder Michel Platini scored his ninth goal of the tournament from a free-kick in the 57th minute before Bruno Bellone dashed all hopes of a Spanish comeback in the 90th minute. France became the first team to win all group stage games and were dominant throughout the tournament.


France won their second title in 2000, two years after winning the World Cup on home soil. The Euro 2000 final featured Les Bleus and Italy at De Kuip in Rotterdam. France found themselves behind in the 55th minute after Marco Delvecchio opened the scoring for the Italians, but were able to stage a dramatic comeback, equalizing in the 93rd minute through Sylvain Wiltord. David Trezeguet then helped the French to their second European trophy, thanks to his golden goal that came in the 103rd minute of extra time.


Les Bleus will hope to end their 24-year wait for a third European Championship in Germany this summer. As one of two overwhelming favorites to win it all, there’ll be lots of spectators vying to get their hands on France tickets at this year’s tournament.



Italy rounds up the list of teams that have won a European Championship multiple times. They got their first win as hosts of the European Championship tournament in 1968, their debut appearance in the competition.

30 years after winning consecutive World Cup titles in 1934 and 1938, Italy played Yugoslavia in the European Championship final at the Stadio Olimpico. Both teams were unable to secure a win after Italy’s Domenghini cancelled out Džajić’s 33rd-minute goal, resulting in a replay match per tournament rules at the time. The Azzurri went on to win the second game 2-0 to win their first European Championship.


Italy became two-time champions at the most recent Euro final in 2021. The game was attended by 67,173 spectators at Wembley, with an estimated 380 million fans tuning in to watch. Roberto Mancini’s men were considered underdogs against a stacked English side, desperate to win its first European title. England led the game early, after Luke Shaw netted a low shot at the 1:53 mark, the fastest goal scored in a European Cup final. Italy got back in the game thanks to a 67th-minute equalizer by Leonardo Bonucci, who became the oldest player to score at the Euro Championship Final.


Following a 1-1 draw after extra time, the Italians secured the win on penalty shootouts, clinching their second European Cup, with a third trophy in sight at this year’s tournament.

Latest articles